2018-11-24 Season Final prizegiving

Prize presentation was held at Kilkeel Golf Club on Saturday 24th November 2018.

The Vice Captain Mr. Shane Lowey, in the absence of the Captain, thanked the sponsors for their generous prizes and continued sponsorship.

2018-11-24 Img1

The competition sponsored by Davin Ltd. (David McCartan)  was held on 13th and 15th September. Colm Cunningham took first place 42 pts, second Robert Stewart 40 pts, third Dominic Murphy 37 pts  and Kieran Poland  got Best Gross with a round of 75.

The results of the next competition held on 22nd September, was sponsored by Kilkeel Golf Club. Willie McCartan won first prise with 41 pts with a better back nine putting Dominic Fitzpatrick into second place. Keith Moorhead, with  39 pts got  third place and Richard Doran won the best gross with a 78.

Joanne McCartan Solicitor Kilkeel sponsored the competition held on 27th & 29th September.  John Rogers, with score of 42 pts. collected first prize. The second, third and Best Gross prizes  were won by Alan Graham, David Parke and James McCulla in that order.

Graeme Morrow presented the C. R. Morrow  Bessbrook  prizes.  The winner was Horace Gordon  42pts, Runner up Damien Grant  40 pts, Samual Gordon with 39pts. collected 3rd prize. Frank Reilly shot a level power 72 to secure best gross.

Next competition held on 11th & 13th October was sponsored by McShanes Solicitors Newry & Kilkeel. The winner was Colin Knox with 37 pts. Second place went to Sean G. O’Hare 36 pts, and in third place was Kieran Poland with 35 pts. Again Frank Reilly won the Best Gross with a gross 80.

The Match Play competitions were presented as follows: Match Play Singles sponsored by Kilkeel Golf Club was won by Michael McAnulty beating Colm Cunningham in the final.

Brothers Paul and Colin Quinn collected the Match Play Greensomes Trophy and prizes sponsored by James Knox & Sons, having beaten Maldwyn Hanna and Victor Quinn in the final.

Paul and Colin also won the Fourball Bettterball Match Play, beating the Captain Austin Crawford and Declan Fitzpatrick into second place. Robin McCullough presented all four with their prizes sponsored by Trustee Cecil  A. McCullough.

The Club Scratch Champion Bowl was presented to Colm Cunningham by the sponsor Mr. Victor Quinn.  The runner up in the Clubs Scratch Champion competition was Joe McKnght.

Player of the year was sponsored by Carson McBride.  Carson presented the Perpetual Trophy and prize to Samual Gordon. Carson was also the sponsor of the Presidents Salver.

Hole in One ties were presented to Keith McIlroy and a King Tie to Colm Cunningham for his second Hole in One this time at the Par 4 fifth Hole at Kilkeel Golf Club. William Holmes and Richard Wilson were also recipients of Holes in One ties.

The Vice Captain thanked the Sponsors for their continued support to Kilkeel Golf Club as did the President Mr. Liam McCartan. The Hamper draw was won by the President who very kindly put it up for auction in aid of Down’s Syndrome Society, a charity very close to his heart.  £100 was raised in the auction. The night concluded with music by Natalie.

2018-11-24 Img2

Img 3

2018-11-24 Img4

2018-11-24 Img 5