



The scene is now set for the finals of the Matchplay competitions at Kilkeel

The Scratch Cup / Club Champion is going to be a close affair with two of our best players going head to head. Colm Cunningham and Frank Reilly face each other for the title with Colm having won the Scratch Cup in 2018 and 2022 now going for the hat-trick. Frank has yet to get his name on the trophy but is sure to provide a stern test for Colly in this contest. Competition sponsor is our President, Victor Quinn.

A large number of entrants in the Matchplay Singles has been whittled down to the last 2. Campbell Evans has defeated 5 opponents on his way to the final and now faces Paschal Morgan who had a bye in the first round and so has won 4 matches thus far. In what is likely to be a flat match, no quarter will be given in this encounter. The Singles competition is sponsored by one of our Trustees, Mr David McCartan.

In the Fourball competition, the holders are through to the final once again with Frank O'Neill and Damian Grant now facing John Henning and Roy Teggarty in the final. Each pair has won 4 matches to get to the decider and with Frank being the low man, he will give his partner 5 shots while John and Roy will get 10 & 11 respectively. (as per today's HI's). No doubt, experience will play a big part in this match! This competition is sponsored by The Captain and Mrs McCullough.

In the Greensomes, Louis Poland and his Dad, Kevin will face Aidan Sloan and Ronan Harrison. Louis and Kevin knocked out last year's winners in the first round and have progressed steadily to the final while Aidan and Ronan have played good golf to get to the decider this year. With only 6 shots being given by Aidan and Ronan, this will be a tough encounter coming down to who performs on the day. The competition sponsor is James Knox & Sons Ltd.

All matches should be played before the 23rd of September.

The 'Golfer of the Year' points which are accumulated from the sponsored weekend competitions and the Club Open Week are still being awarded. The following members (In alphabetical order) are currently in the top thirty. With points awarded for each competition for the first fifteen places, the title is still 'up for grabs!'

Anderson, Trevor Grant, Jack Morrow, Clarence R Burden, Mark Norris, John Greene, Hugh Burns, Christopher Hanna, Stanley L Orr, lain Burns, Jonathan Hanna, Steven Parke, Stefan Campbell, John JPL Harrison, Ronan Quinn, Paul G Cunningham, Colm J Jennings, Finbar Rafferty, Ben Cunningham, Rian Little, Keith Rafferty, Jack Donnelly, Aidan McConnell, John Steenson, Michael Dunn, Stephen McCullagh, Paul Watts, Bobby Graham, Jack McGuffin, Stephen Whyte, Glenn Graham, Richard McKnight, William Wilson, Andy